Curborough Championship Update 2018 Round 3

2018 Curborough Sprint Championship supported by PJS Sports Cars and Paul Green Jewellers


Championship Results 2018 Round 3

The Annual Owen M.C. Graham Hill Memorial Sprint attracted a good entry, and 35 Championship entries. The summer returned and was ideal for a few Class records to be broken, and a few burnt arms and necks.
Class Sa got the meeting started with a win and a new class record for the MGZR of your scribe, with Bob Smith second in his new Fiat Panda 100hp and Sarah Holland third in her own new ZR, after using the SDCC Academy ZR last time out.
Jack Twomey had an entertaining day in his Ford Puma in Class Sb with his four runs recorded as: FAIL, FAIL, new class record time, FAIL !
The 10 car Class Sc was a really close contest again with Paul Glendenning taking the win by 0.11sec from Mark Williams, both Clio Sport pilots breaking the class record. Craig Tock’s Honda Type R was 3rd, and Paul Gough’s Clio 4th. 5th and 6th respectively, as in the previous round, were Neal Bateman’s Fiesta and Wayne Parke’s Clio, split by 0.04s sec!
The Class Sd Porsche Boxster scrap went to David Tilley, from Steve Barrow. Sitting the Class out this week, Warwick Bourton did a stirling job in the commentary hut!
A really close 1a, saw the win go to Keith Waters’ Metro, from Julian Fishwick’s Mini, with Martin Domleo 3rd in his Fiesta, all three split by 0.6 sec.
The Lotus class, 2L, went to Martin Roberts in his Elise.
In the usual decent sized 2b kit car class John Caldicott snatched the win on the last run by 0.04 sec from Oliver Swadkin. Matthew Haynes’ Westfield took third from Simon Price by a slightly bigger margin, with Robert Swadkin fifth.
Graham Harvey returned from his hols, to record a win in 3a in a class of 3 Minis. Second and third respectively were Stuart Gadd and Stuart Ballinger.
A really good 3b had a returning Owen Cule take a good win in the Metro. With a couple of HSA championship interlopers in second and third, Tom Harding and Dean Radcliffe had to settle for fourth and fifth.
The Williams’ family Westfield Megabusa’s first outing of the season saw Mark taking the win from Dad Phil.
Unfortunately all of the Libre and racing car classes were only single entry, but FTD went to Chris Green in his 1600 OMS with a time of 53.11sec.

THE USUAL IMPORTANT NOTE AGAIN TO ALL Championship Entrants; As you have seen again this week, with many Championship contenders coming out to play in most rounds this year, events do get over subscribed, and most clubs take entries are on a first come basis if they do get full, so it is just another reminder get your entries in early!

Also a note for the many novices we have in the Championship this year, that in previous years class positions have been decided at the end of the season after tied points, on count back positions in each round, so doing more than 6 can be important!

I hope to see as many of you as possible at the S&HMC meeting on June 24h,

Steve Wood