Curborough Championship Update 2018 Round 2

2018 Curborough Sprint Championship supported by PJS Sports Cars and Paul Green Jewellers


Championship Results 2018 Round 2

The usual SDCC Championship figure of eight sprint was oversubscribed and attracted around 45 Championship entries. As it was Bank holiday weekend, I was away stuck in traffic! so any wayward driving will have avoided my comments!
Class Sa got the meeting started with a win for Bob Smith in the Fiesta, from Sarah Holland in the SDCC Academy MGZR.
Class Sb had all 3 championship contenders entered, and saw a win, and a new class record for Jack Twomey in his Puma.
The 10 car Class Sc was a really closely contested event with Paul Glendenning taking the win from Mark Williams, both in Clio Sports. Craig Tock’s Type R was 3rd, and Paul Gough’s Clio 4th. Fifth and Sixth respectively, were Neal Bateman’s Fiesta and Wayne Parke’s Clio, and all five were split by just over 0.7 sec!!
Class Sd saw a Porsche 1,2,3, with Simon Parkin first, David Tilley second and Steve Barrow third.
In 1C Steve Smith spoilt the Championship party by taking the win in his Imprezza, from the similar mount of John Murphy, with Andrew Chesterton third in his Evo.
The Lotus class, 2L, saw another win for Scott Bennett from second placed Martin Roberts, both in Elises.
In the usual large 2B kit car class Matthew Haynes’ Westfield pipped John Caldicott’s Caterham by 0.24 sec to take the honours, with Oliver Swadkin 3rd in his Westfield.
With Graham Harvey away, wading through “sunny” Weymouth, Stuart Ballinger took the small capacity Mod prod class in his Mini , from Stuart Gadd.
The Rally car class went to William Rushton’s Escort from Matt Walk’s Fiesta.
With the weather interrupting the second runs of the latter classes, many of those competitors chose not to run, and results were all down to the first runs.
In Libre Cars, 6A, Steve Barnard took the win from the Radical of David Large.
The eclectic mix in Period defined road cars, went to the Anglia of Simon Cooper, from the Spitfire of Paul Cheshire, with Roland Turner’s Escort third.
Sara Holland took the Ladies Award, and FTD went to Ben Waine in his 1100 Magnum.

THE USUAL IMPORTANT NOTE AGAIN TO ALL Championship Entrants; As you have seen this week, with a good Championship entry this year, (now up to 63), and some of the remaining events also being rounds of other championships, events do get over subscribed, and most clubs entries are on a first come basis if they do get full, so another reminder get your entries in early for the events you want to do!

I hope to see as many of you as possible at the Owen meeting on June 10th,

Steve Wood