Skip to content

Curborough Championship

Curborough Championship 2018

2019 CURBOROUGH SPRINT CHAMPIONSHIP, supported by  PJS Sports Cars and Paul Green Jewellers .


The Curborough Championship, sponsored again this year by PJS Sports Cars & Paul Green Jewellers, is already just over half way through the season!

In it’s 21st year, the usual SDCC July event has attracted a full entry, with over 46 of them Championship entries out of the 65 registered contenders.

Many of the Classes are very well supported, especially Sa, Sc, and 2b, and with 11 novices entered in the Championship, that is a good indication that the Championship is continuing in it’s original intention of supporting grass root sprinting.

With 11 MGZRs’ entered in Class Sa, for “showroom” spec cars upto 1400cc, including the SDCC’s own Academy car, it shows just how Sprinting can be done on the cheap with most of the  MGZRs’ costing well under £600!

 NOTE: Some feedback has been received about a few time keeping issues experienced at some of the meetings this season, with competitors unfortunately blaming the individual clubs. Please be aware that ALL of the Clubs pay for independent MSUK timekeepers to do the timekeeping at their events, and are not to blame for any issues that the timekeepers experience. There is a shortage of MSUK registered timekeepers across the Country, which restricts the Clubs’ choice of available timekeepers to book for their meetings. SDCC has been encouraging a new timekeeper this year using an MSUK licenced system, following the sad passing away of Alan Smith who had been timekeeping at Speed events, especially Curborough, for decades, and some of the issues have been due to new equipment. Unfortunately Alan’s old equipment, although very reliable is not easy to replicate as he built it using a, now very rare, ex WW11 Aldis signalling lamp! So we would ask competitors to try to be patient whilst modern technology tries to catch up with the 1940’s best !

Steve Wood



Curborough Championship

Curborough Sprint Championship 2019

Supported by PJS Sports Cars and Paul Green Jewellers

NOTE: Last years entrants will receive Regulations and Registration form in the post.

2019 Regs and Entry Form now CONFIRMED and PDF format documents can be obtained by clicking the links on this page.

Championship Permit Number is CH2019/SO12.


Calendar of Rounds 2019 (Provisional)
Date Grade Club
April 28th Nat B Sheffield & Hallamshire MC
May 11th Nat B BMMC
May 26th Nat B Shenstone & District Car Club
June 9th Nat A/B Owen MC
June 16th Nat B Sheffield & Hallamshire MC
July 14th Nat B Shenstone & District Car Club
August 11th Nat B Mid Cheshire MRC
August 24th Nat B BMMC
Sept 8th Nat B Shenstone & District Car Club
Round 9




The SDCC September single lap event bought the 2019 Championship season to an end with a good entry, some REALLY close competition, and great weather to end the season.

Class Sa, with this years’ throng of MGZR’s kicked the meeting off and saw Jack Twomey take the class win by 0.07sec, with Craig Tock second, and Graham Harvey third.

David Owen took fourth and “your scribe” fifth, the top five all under the existing class record and within 0.41 sec!

A six car Class Sb produced a win, and new class record for Bob Smith in the Saxo VTR, from Steve Barrow’s Twingo Sport, by 0.04sec! Steve Burns Suzuki Swift was 3rd, just 0.14sec back.

The second timed runs saw Mark Williams Clio snatch the Sc win from Paul Glendenning, equal the 10 year old class record, and in doing so, pip Craig Tock’s MGZR in Sa to the Championship outright win by 0.5 point!  Just 0.02sec split the Clios of Wayne Park and Paul Gough for 3rd and 4th respectively.

Warwick Bourton put in a great time to win Class Sd in the Focus ST3, from SDCC chairman, John Williams’ 350z in 2nd, with the Boxster of Rod Fisher 3rd.

Keith Waters produced a PB in the Metro with his first sub 39.0 sec time to win the up to 1400cc Road Going class from Julian Fishwick’s Mini.

The 2.0L Road Going Class saw Rosemary Collins’ MGZR a close second to Peter Jenkins’ Civic.

The larger capacity road going class had Steve Smith in the Impreza taking the Championship class win from David Connell’s Mustang.

In the road going Lotus class, 2La, David Whiteley took the win to claim the Championship class, with John Healy second and Andrew Palmer third, all in Elises.

Simon Price in the Westfield turned the tables on John Caldicott’s Caterham in the 2B kit car class to take his first win of the year, but it did not prevent John from taking 3rd overall in the Championship.

The small capacity Mod Prod class, 3a, saw the Nova of Laurence Bond take the win, with the Mini’s of Stuart Ballinger and Al Henley 2nd and 3rd respectively.

Closest win of the day came in the up to 1400cc Mod Prods where Owen Cule beat Metro GTI co-pilot, Dean Ratcliffe, by 0.01sec!!! Matt Frost’s Clio was a close third to claim the championship best novice of the season.

David Bickley won the Libre up to 1700 Class in his Radical, and Stuart Bickley made it a good family day out with a win in the single seater up to 1100cc class and FTD.

Well supported period defined classes saw the road going one, of 2 Elans, a Spitfire and a Mini go  to the Elan of Peter Briars, and the racing car class win to the Mallock Mk11 of Tim Densham.


Well, another season flies past, and a big thank you to all of the Clubs and marshals at each event, and, of course to our Two Championship Sponsors, PJS Sports Cars & Paul Green Jewellers.


Provisional Championship Top 5 .

  1. Mark Williams ( 142.5)  Renault Clio 200  (Sc)
  2. Craig Tock    (142 ) MGZR 1.4  (Sa)
  3. John Caldicott  (137) Caterham R300  (2b)
  4. Paul Glendenning (137)  Renault Clio 200   (Sc)
  5. Graham Harvey (135.5)  MGZR 1.4 (Sa)

Provisional Novice Trophy:
Matt Frost   ( Clio Cup)

2019 “Lifeline Award”
James Partridge  ( Clio 172)

Steve Wood

Round 8
Round 7
Round 6
Round 5
Round 4
Round 3
Round 2
Round 1

If you require more information please complete and submit the form below:

Scroll To Top