Curborough Championship 2017 Update Round 6

The Redline Synthetic Oils 2017 Curborough Sprint Championship in Association with Lifeline.

Championship Results Round 6




Round 6 of the Championship was the second SDCC event of the season, and the two lapper attracted a good entry, with quite a few non championship entries supplementing the numbers. Great weather throughout the day meant that the ice cream salesman probably enjoyed the day more than all us nomex clad competitors!
Sb, the standard class upto 2.0L saw the usual decent entry, and Wayne Park grabbed the class win in his Clio Sport from Dave Chesterton’s Fiesta ST by 0.3 sec. Howard Cottrell was 3rd, a further 0.3 secs back, with the Clio 182 of Paul Gough fourth.  Bob Smith just got edged into 5th, only 0.09 behind Paul in the shared Clio 182!
A great entry in the large capacity standard cars class saw the Boxster of Mark Williams take the win, and knock 0.04 of a second off the class record!  2nd was the Cayman S of Jonny Mear, from 3rd placed David Paisley in him BMW M3. “Mr Curborough”, David Pattison, claimed 4th in his Boxster, by 0.02secs, from Steve Mear in the shared “family” Cayman S.
The usual good turnout for Class 2B, saw the win go to John Caldicott’s Caterham R300, from the Westfield of Matthew Haynes, with Oliver Swadkin’s Westfield in 3rd.
As per the previous round, Graham Harvey swapped Mini’s, and Classes, to 3a, and took the Class win again, this time from Andrew Chesterton in his Nova, with Stuart Ballinger third in his Mini.
A good turnout in Class 3B saw the win going to the Mk2 Escort of Graham Probyn, and second place to Owen Cule in the Metro, both returning from apparent sabbaticals!
Andrew Birch won the upto 1700 Libre Class in his Radical, and Martin Duffield led Steve Potter home in the upto 1100 single seater class. FTD went to Alasdair Mercer in the Force LM with a blistering time of 51.19sec, which also knocked a huge 1.5 secs off his own Libre class record!
A lovely line up of Period defined road cars, went to the Marcos GT of Bill Smith, from the Anglia of Simon Cooper, with the Elan of Peter Briars 3rd. Fourth and fifth respectively were the Bond Equipe of Paul Cammerer and the Spitfire Mk4 of Paul Cheshire.
The Ladies trophy, for nearest time to their respective Class records, went to Sarah Wood in the MGZR in Class Sa.
With 2 rounds remaining there are still quite a few contenders for the outright Championship positions and the current top ten are as below:
1.            Dave Chesterton              115
2.            Martin Duffield                 110
3.            Robert Swadkin                106
4.            Paul Gough                         106
5.            Matthew Haynes             106
6.            Mark Williams (Sd)          101.5    (5 rounds)
7.            Mark Williams (4b)          97.5        (5 rounds)
8.            Paul Glenndenning         97           (5 rounds)
9.            John Caldicott                    97           (5 rounds)
10.          Oliver Swadkin                  94.5       (5 rounds)
Take a well earnt break now, (or fettle your cars!), before the BMMC event on Saturday August 26th. Hope to see you there,                                

Steve Wood