Curborough Championship 2017 Round 7 Update

Redline Synthetic Oils Curborough Sprint Championship 2017 in Association with Lifeline.


Round 7

Results after Round 7

Round 7 of the Championship reverted to the figure of eight format for the BMMC’s second event of the season, and attracted a very good entry, buoyed by Porsche and Lotus 7 championship competitors in the two other championships invited to the event.
Lovely weather again accompanied the well run event.
Sc, the standard class upto 2.0L saw the usual large entry, and great competition. Paul Glendenning took the win in his Clio 197 from Howard Cottrell’s MGTF160 by 0.1 of a second. 3rd was Wayne Parke in the shared Clio 197 and fourth Dave Chesterton in his Clio 182. All four were split by less than 4 tenths of a second!
A low entry in the large capacity standard cars class didn’t stop  Mark Williams taking his Boxster to the limit with some grass tracking on his way to the win, and new class record! Warwick Bourton was second in his new Focus ST3.
A good entry in the small capacity road going class, went to Graham Harvey in the 1.0l Mini turbo, pushed closely by Tim Bishop in his 1380 Mini. 3rd and 4th respectively were Stuart Ballinger and Julian Fishwick making it a Mini fest!
The usual good turn out for Class 2B, saw the win go to John Caldicott’s Caterham R300, from the two Westfield SEiW’s of Matthew Haynes and Oliver Swadkin respectively.
With the small capacity mod prod class depleted with a few Mini competitors returning to their 1A cars, Andrew Chesterton took a comfortable win in the Nova.
A really good turn out in 3B saw a win for Owen Cule in the Metro, with the Golf of Tom Harding second, just pipping Dad Andrew who was third.
An unusually large turn out  in 3C, saw the “family” 911 of Michael and Steve Jackson take 1st and 2nd respectively, from the Boxster of Chris Martin in 3rd.
Mark Williams cleaned up class 4B in the rapid Westfield Megabusa, and a low entry in 7B saw Steve Potter take the win in his Megapin from the Jedi of Roland Knott.
With only the final round remaining there are still quite a few contenders for the outright Championship positions, and the class positions in some of the classes.
One award that looks decided is Jamie Moffat taking the Annual Paul Green Jewellers Novice Award!

Top ten standings are currently as below:

  1. Mark Williams ( Sd) 119.5
    2.            =Paul Glendenning                          117
    =John Caldicott                                                 117
    4.            Mark Williams (4b)                          117 (-4)
    5.            Dave Chesterton                              115
    6.            Oliver Swadkin                                  112.5
    7.            Simon Price                                        112
    8.            Tom Harding                                      110.5
    9.            Martin Duffield                                 110
    10.          Martin Roberts                                 109.5
    Remember, with overall top three relinquishing their Class Awards, some class positions will improve, so a lot to play for as it is very close for some of the class positions.
    Hope to see most of you at the SDCC final round on 10th September,

Steve Wood