Curborough Championship 2017 Update Round 5

The Redline Synthetic Oils 2017 Curborough Sprint Championship in Association with Lifeline.

Championship Results Round 5

Round 5 of the championship was the second Sheffield and Hallamshire Motor Club round. For some reason, disappointingly, we only had 22 championship entries, with a few late cancellations, resulting in quite a few small classes.
Changeable weather through the day meant that some classes were decided on their only dry runs.
As usual, the standard class up to 2.0L saw the largest entry and Dave Chesterton took advantage of the changeable conditions to take the win in his Fiesta ST, from the Clio 182 of Paul Gough, with the Clio 197 of Paul Glendenning third.  The MX5 of Jamie Moffat claimed fourth.
The Boxster battle in Sd, was won by Mark Williams from David Pattison.
Second largest class of the day, 2B, saw the closest contests of the day, with Robert Swadkin’s Westfield taking the win from Paul Evans’ similar machine by 0.8 sec. John Caldicott’s Caterham took third by 0.5 sec from the Westfield of Matthew Haynes.
Martin Roberts won the 2 car Lotus Elise scrap in 2L from David Whiteley.
A change of car and class still produced a win for Graham Harvey in 3a, from second placed Anita Chesterton in her Nova. Third was Stuart Ballinger, also swapping car and class for the event to his mod prod mini.
The family Golf GTi dice in 3b went the way of Tom from Dad Andy in second.
With only a couple of single seater entries, FTD was being held by the Boxster of Mark Williams for quite a while in the changing conditions, but eventually went to Alasdair Mercer in the Force LM as it dried out.Having reached the halfway point of the season, just a reminder that all of the championship bulletins and results are on the website under the Championship heading, and relevant links.
There are quite a few contenders for the outright Championship positions and the current top ten are as below:

1.            Paul Glendenning            97

2.            Dave Chesterton              96

3.            Martin Roberts                 91.5

4.            Martin Duffield                 91

5.            Robert Swadkin                90

6.            Paul Gough                         89

7.            Matthew Haynes             87

8.            Graham Harvey                 80           (4 rounds)

9.            Mark Williams ( Sd)         79.5        (4 rounds)

10.          Mark Williams ( 4b)         79           (4 rounds)

Hope to see a few more of you out again at the S.D.C.C event  on July 9th in a couple of weeks,                                  

Steve Wood