Championship Update Round 8

Redline Synthetic Oils Curborough Sprint Championship 2017 in Association with Lifeline.

Results Round 8

Round 8


Round 8 of the Championship was the usual SDCC single lapper finale and a great entry saw some really close class times, and very tight end of season positions! Luckily the weather just about held off until the end of the event.
Sc, the standard car class upto 2.0L saw a great final scrap, with the top 3 all within 4 tenths. Dave Chesterton took the win, from Wayne Parke and Paul Glendenning, all in Clio Sports. Howard Cottrell’s MGTF160 was fourth after a big spin on his first run.
A good entry in the large capacity standard car class saw  Mark Williams in his Boxster pipped to the win by Jonny Mear’s Cayman by 0.3 secs. David Paisley was a great 3rd in his M3 in front of the other Cayman and Boxster of Steve Mear and David Pattison respectively.
Graham Harvey produced a maximum score in the 1.0l Mini turbo in 1A to just nick the overall championship by half a point on the last run, having hit the first corner cone and got a penalty on his first run! Second was Stuart Ballinger in his 1380 Mini, with 3rd and 4th and 5th , Julian Fishwick, Keith Waters and Martin Domleo respectively all within 0.5 sec.!
A large turn out for Class 2B, saw 1st and 2nd go to the double driven Raw Fulcrum of Alan and Nicholas Muggleston. Oliver Swadkin took 3rd from John Caldicott by 0.15 on the final run, which meant that John lost overall 3rd in the championship to Paul Glendenning on 7th event countback!   Martin Roberts needed his final run to beat David Whiteley in the Elises, and win the PJS sponsored Lotus class.
A large turn out in 3B saw a win for Adrian Crawley from Dad David in the “family” Peugeot 205GTI. Owen Cule  in the Metro, was third from the Golf of Tom Harding, who claimed the championship class win.
Mark Williams won class 4B in the rapid Westfield Megabusa, but Dad Phil pushed him close.
Andrew Birch won the small capacity Libre class in his Radical, and Lindsay Mercer claimed FTD from the large capacity Libre class in his Force LM.
In the Rally car class Pete Shenton was pushed closely for the win by Graham Brindley, both in Ford Escorts.
Stuart Bickley took a good 7B class in his Jedi, from Richard Arrowsmiths’ Force.
A great season finale with all three overall positions changing at the last event, and some class positions sorted on the final runs!
The final provisional outright Championship positions, are below,
Top 5 standings are provisionally as below:

  1. Graham Harvey 120.5
    2.            Mark Williams (Sd)                          120
    3.            Paul Glendenning                            117 (4x1sts, 1x2nd, 2x3rds )
    4.            John Caldicott                                    117 (4x1sts, 1x2nd, 1x3rds, 1x4th)
    5.            Dave Chesterton                              117 (3x1sts, 3x2nds)
    Results will be final in two weeks and appear on the Curborough website along with the full list of awards winners. Hope to see all the award winners at the Championship Awards Dinner at Moor Hall in Sutton Coldfield, on Friday March 3rd 2018, SAVE THE DATE!

Steve Wood